Pressure to get Engaged

I am currently in a relationship with my girlfriend and she is pressuring me to get engaged soon. She has threatened several times over the past year that she will leave me if I fail to propose to her soon. I am reluctant to marry her being I have doubts that she is “the one”. We have been a couple for seven years and living together for four of those seven years.

What eats me up inside is that I had originally promised her 3 years ago that I wanted to marry her. I also indicated my intentions to her parents.

We both are originally from another city. When I graduated from college, I found a job in another state. We decided to try a long-distance relationship for the time being and before she was willing leave home and move in with me I had to promise her that I would marry her. My original intentions were to marry her at the time (when I didn’t have my current doubts).

The current doubts I have are:

-She is very clingy; she demands that the majority of our spare time be spent together. At first this was not a problem as we shared the same interests but now some of our interests have changed. I don’t want to spend all of my time with her.

-She has a hard time spending money on activities. I find it frustrating that she doesn’t like to take spontaneous trips, or go to an exercise class or to go on a day trip to a ski hill just to save a few bucks.

-We disagree on household chores. We always argue over who is carrying their weight with the household chores.

-We disagree on finances. We don’t split the bills, as I pay for all of them. She saves her money and puts the majority of it on the mortgage. Her opinion on not splitting the bills is when we have kids she won’t be able to split the bills anyway.