sweating the small stuff?

Alethea

my significant other and i have been together for about nine months. after the initial "honeymoon phase", we've had a few arguments, which i feel are normal for any growing relationship. however, the last few times i have expressed frustration over certain issues, he tells me, in essence, that i'm being petty, and i end up apologizing when i'm not so sure i was wrong. for instance, he has a rather high-pressure job, and i am presently a student. he had made some remarks that made me feel like he saw being a student as an invalid occupation, and so i expressed frustration at being made to feel like what i'm doing isn't worthwhile. instead of discussing this, he immediately became very upset- rather extreme anger, in fact- and said that he didn't understand why these little things bother me so much. this same discussion has been repeated with variation a few times since.

so, i guess my questions are: am i being petty, and is this something that i need to work on (ie. learning to choose my battles)? and, why does he become so very angry when i am expressing what i think is a pretty valid frustration? finally, am i being a doormat for ending up falling all over myself apologizing, or should i be less critical to begin with?

thanks for taking the time to read all this.

~Alethea

YOU ASK:

1. "am i being petty, and is this something that i need to work on (ie. learning to choose my battles)?"

No, he has no reason to demean your status as a student or to cut you down in any other way. Relationships are based on mutual respect. He is either very immature or very disrespectful or both and lacks the depth of understanding and elasticity of thought necessary to carry on a successful relationship.

2. "and, why does he become so very angry when i am expressing what i think is a pretty valid frustration?"