Breaking up with someone who isn't ready but won't let you move on

LovelyLily

Hi,

I'm a newbie to the forum and excited and a little scared at the same time. I have previously never expressed my thoughts and feelings this way but here we go. Hoping to get some feedback on my situation from you out there who might have some experience with this.

About 2.5 years ago I met a man in the town where I live. Our paths used to naturally cross a few times per week and it took months before we even started chatting. I was at the end of a rebound relationship post my separation at the time and didn't think any of it other than that he was very cute and easy to talk to. I knew he was interested in me since he was constantly looking for me and smiled ear -to ear when I caught his gaze. Adorable really. After my relationship ended a couple of months later my interest grew stronger and I decided to take the first step and initiated contact. What then followed was a whirlwind of intense infatuation that turned into love and a strong friendship after about a year. We fell fast and we fell hard but we decided to keep it to ourselves since there were children in the picture and we were both recently out of long-term relationships.