My job is making me miserable, should I quit?

lw712856

I work as a preschool aide and started in the fall so I've been there for the whole school year so far. It started with the teacher and two of us aides. After the first 2 months the other aide quit. We were pretty close and related to each other a lot with the job. The teacher is a bully and was always nit picking about every little thing. The aide couldn't take it anymore so she quit, rightfully so! Ever since she left I feel like the teacher has been trying to put the teacher role onto me. The kids like me better because she's so rude sometimes. Also she has me take the kids out for recess every day, get snack ready, do story time, get them ready for nap, and even teach the lesson once in a while! All while she sits at her desk. It makes me furious because I'm just supposed to be an aide. I thought that meant organizing things, doing little tasks, & paperwork but I was wrong. She keeps her eye on me all day waiting for me to do something wrong and then comes at me complaining. A few times she's called off and left me in charge of the class the whole day. I followed the lesson plan she left and during free time printed out coloring pages for the kids. The next day she pulled me aside and told me she found out I had printed coloring pages and that it's not educational and she told me that before, months ago. So since I did that she told me she was going to write me up. Later her and I were doing worksheets with the kids and one of them asked if they could have a sticker. She didn't answer. I had the stickers right in front of me so I put one on the kids worksheet. She pulled me aside again and said "this is the kind of behavior I'm talking about. I'm the teacher and I will be the one to give them stickers!!" I was so confused... Because at the time my father was dying and she still kept nit picking at me. I only work part time but i have 3 kids of my own and I really don't want to even be working. I need to be