My view on being a mistress

I've been reading a lot of posts in regards to being a mistress. So, I'll tell my story and share my experience to give another perspective.

I am a successful professional and a mistress to a MM. I am not a "kept" mistress, as I do very well on my own. It didn't start for just sex either. Before we ever had our first encounter, we knew this relationship was much more than that.

We are in love. I am the one he cannot stop thinking about. He's not happy in his marriage of 14 yrs, but he's not unhappy either. It's just there. If he didn't stand to lose so much monetarily, he would divorce. I knew this from the start, and had mentally conditioned myself that he will not leave her. I'm fine and have accepted that fact. I, at one point, was married for 7 years and have been divorced with a son for 4 yrs now. I've traveled down that path of marriage and know that I don't feel the need to rehitch. I've learned to live independently and like my time alone. Plus, I don't want to relive that routine life of living with the spouse 24/7 and deal with the stagnacy of married life.

Our relationship is perfect. It's exactly what I want. I don't want to deal with a man 24/7, it's exhausting. I spend half my life working, the other quarter with my son, and the other quarter for "things for me". I had a serious relationship with a man right after my divorce, and it ate up the time from my only son (I know, shame on me for not spending more time with my child - I've learned my lesson). I do not have time for a full-time relationship with a man. I dedicate my time to my work and my son.

This is how my relationship is working with my MM. He's so wonderful, I'd rather have him in my life part-time, than not at all. Quite honestly, I don't know if I could be with him full-time. By no means do I ask him to leave her. Because I love him, I wouldn't do that to him.