Regrets, I have a few

mario_C

As the song goes...LOL

I was a terrible musician, writer, and employee in every field I've ever worked in. All my dreams and ambitions have ended up in failure, all the women I fell for already taken or just not available.

Now I drive an Uber and live at home, ostensibly to look after my elderly mother but she obviously resents me being there as much as I hate being there. No friends, no nothing.

I know, I know...every day is a new opportunity. Well, what if it isn't? I can't go back and be good enough at the stuff I dreamed of doing. I can't make women like me or anyone respect me.

Where can one go from here? There's nowhere, is there?

If you believe that there's nowhere to go from here, then this is what will happen.

Have you ever gone back and worked out where different jobs and dreams and ambitions failed?   It's so important to learn from our mistakes

• Author
7 hours ago, basil67 said:

If you believe that there's nowhere to go from here, then this is what will happen.

Have you ever gone back and worked out where different jobs and dreams and ambitions failed?   It's so important to learn from our mistakes

All the time, and I keep trying...but I'm not young anymore. I'm tired all the time.

And I always, always hear the "learn from your mistakes and move on" line. Sorry, but...DUH. Yes, that is what you do. But it doesn't change the fact that I failed, and that because I failed, I'm behind in life still. I should be doing so much better by now, and I'm not. And does life ever begin at 55? For whom?

Anyway, I appreciate the kind words.