Eyes wide open

laurastella

What does it mean when a guy suddenly starts looking at you with eyes wide open (like a surprised look)?

I am new at this job (3 months working) and the other day I complimented my male colleague in the office. He is constantly afraid that he is breaking the dress code with his bermuda pants.

I finally said, “At least you have nice calves, so you can wear shorts.” He said “Thanks” and we continued chatting for a while (but I did not see him from a monitor). A few minutes later I was leaving the office and said goodbye and he was smiling (we were both smiling), but like he was looking at me differently, with wider opened eyes.

At least he was smiling, so I felt good, but I remembered an awkward situation 10+ years ago with another guy. I often saw that “friend” on a bus station after work and we were commuting a few stations together and talking. One day I wanted to surprise him from the back when I saw him on the station and I kind of pinched his shoulder, just for fun. He turned his head slowly to see who this was and I had a wide smile until I saw he was in total shock. He was looking at me with his eyes wide open (without smiling, very surprised look) not only for this moment but for the next 2 weeks. I just thought that he was overreacting and I felt very uncomfortable. In one moment he even put his hand over mine in the bus, but I pulled it out.

So, this bus guy story does not matter anymore, but I remembered it and wondered what it means when they look at you like that after you do something that may surprise them. I can understand a surprised look for a moment, but not prolonged. I thought that maybe my action surprised them and they thought that was a sign I like them and that they have a chance with me, so they are thinking of using that chance. If that is the case, I really don’t like that sequence. I would prefer a guy to like me first, and not just after he thinks he may have a chance with me.