How can I leave someone I love?

I need to leave my 20 year marriage because my husband is making my youngest daughter unsafe due to his fear based and aggressive parenting style. I don’t know how to leave someone I love but doesn’t treat us well all the time :( I know sounds crazy! Help and guidance much appreciated. Thanks. 

Speak with an attorney and find out what your legal options are. 

What exactly is he doing to make her feel unsafe? 

Maybe make a police report and get him removed from the home.

I'm not an expert in these things but I'm learning.

Can you tell us a bit more about what's going on?  And what are the logistics of leaving him?   You say you love him....can you tell us why you love him?  I'm wondering if you've ever given yourself permission to question your love.   

1 hour ago, Danielac77 said:

my husband is making my youngest daughter unsafe due to his fear based and aggressive parenting style. 

How old is your daughter and what is happening that is unsafe? If there is child abuse going on you need to get yourselves to safely asap. Do you have friends and family nearby? Do you work? 

7 hours ago, Danielac77 said:

I don’t know how to leave someone I love but doesn’t treat us well all the time

You do this by thinking about what is the best for your child, not yourself.  Think about your daughter being in a safe placee and being happy.  That is your number 1 job.

ExpatInItaly
On 8/21/2023 at 11:17 AM, Danielac77 said:

my husband is making my youngest daughter unsafe due to his fear based and aggressive parenting style.

Does this mean he is abusing her?

• 4 weeks later...
  • Author