Boss asked me to flirt with client

Hi,

I (f28) would like to have comments on this situation. I have been working at this place for 4 years. Every thing is fine and I like my job. I have been married for 6 years.

The other day my boss took me out for lunch. It happens once in a while, sometimes with other colleagues but not this time. He said he needed to talk to me. So here it is: there will be a very important client coming over for a big contract that he hopes to get in a few weeks (3-4 weeks) and he wants to impress him. The company already did a few small contracts for him and everything went well. Also it has been very difficult for the company recently and that contract would secure our jobs for a long time.

He explained that Pete (lets call the guy Pete)  will be over in a few weeks (he is from out of town) to negotiate the contract. Pete has seen me once or twice when he came over. My boss wants to put all his chances in order to land that contract. Pete had made a comment or two to my boss about me. I did not know about that. So he (my boss) asked me if I would accept to meet him after the negotiation, we would go for a drink and lunch in a very good restaurant and he asked if I would be ok to flirt with him. First thing that came to my mind was that he wants me to sleep with him I told my boss that I would not do that. He said no this is not what I am asking you, not at all, just a nice evening with him and a little flirting to please him.

He said that I could take time to think about it, it will only be in a few weeks and not to worry about my job it will not affect it at all whether I accept or not. It is something he has been thinking about and he has no idea if it would help for the contract, but he thinks if he has a good evening it might help a bit. My relation with my boss has always been very good.So I can easily tell him what think.