no idea what's happening

hey all, i'm happy to have found a supportive place to learn, share, and support folks who are going through a similar thing.

i'm a single guy in my mid-thirties. i have never done anything like this before. i'm in a grad program with the married woman i've been seeing. she lives with her husband and they have a two-year-old daughter. they were on-and-off for roughly 16 years, tied the knot about six years ago. she used to work, but she's been financially dependent on him since she started this very demanding program. when we met, she immediately started flirting with me. first it was subtle, then she was trying to be alone with me all the time. i rejected her advances for weeks because her being married scared the crap out of me and i hated the idea of breaking up a family. but we kept texting and meeting up in person and eventually i asked her where this was going and why she was pursuing me, and she said "to see if this is something real." i knew she was a package deal. i don't have kids, but i'd work hard to face the seen and unseen challenges i'd face.

things got heavy with this woman very quickly, and i fell deeply in love. she said on numerous occasions that the feeling was mutual. at times, i would tell her that i was afraid that she would string me along forever. sometimes she would tell me that she doesn't intend to leave her husband and her baby despite her unhappiness with him, and other times she would say that eventually, when she can, she will. i was skeptical, but i stayed on the hook.