I have been married for 17 years.  You would think I would understand marriage by now but I don't I do.  You see ..I grew up in a home that was near perfect.  My parents never insulted, yelled or disrespected each other.   In my marriage if I don't have the same opinion as husband he yells and calls me [offensive names].  If I don't do my "womanly chores ". I'm a [ ].  Which I keep my house very clean.  I make all the money and pay all the bills.  Stack and bring in wood.  He accuses me of cheating, chatting on line with people.  I can't have any friends.  When I need to talk to him about something that is bothering me he tells me to shut my [ ] big trap or he tells me to quit the bla bla bla.  That nothing that comes out of my mouth is Worth listening.  I graduated from collage and have done well for myself.  I work out every day and would say that I look at least 10 years younger than I am.  But my self esteem is really low.  I've been so depressed.  I literally have no one to talk to.  I don't want to live my life like this and wonder if it's me or is this normal behavior in a marriage.   I want so.badly to have a best friend I my husband and be loved.  I have so much to give and he just makes me not want to even be around him.  Please some advise. 

Edited by a LoveShack.org Moderator
language
2 hours ago, sunbum said:

.  I make all the money and pay all the bills.  

Unfortunately you're in an abusive relationship, but on some level you know this.  Does he have substance abuse or mental health issues?

Your best recourse is to free yourself from the abuse. Privately and confidentiality consult an attorney for your options in the event of divorce. Do not tell him or threaten divorce.

Enlist the help of a qualified therapist for clarity and ongoing support. You can speak your mind and get help removing yourself from the abuse.