He needs substance.

Firstlady07

What does it mean when a man tells you he needs substance?  I've been talking to this man for about two months and he tells me he wants me to open up more he needs substance. 

I'd be offended after 2 months someone tells me to open up because he doesn't see substance yet. Why you have not met yet? 

• Like 1

He feels like your conversations are superficial.  I don't know if he's expecting you to reveal more secrets & personal info to him or he's looking to have more intellectual conversations about subjects. 

If you haven't met, then continue to play your cards close to the vest & don't over share but do try to arrange to actually meet. 

If you have met, ask him what "more substance" means -- deeper personal info vs. intellectual conversations.    

• Like 3
16 minutes ago, Firstlady07 said:

What does it mean when a man tells you he needs substance?  I've been talking to this man for about two months and he tells me he wants me to open up more he needs substance. 

To me, it means he needs someone with some depth, who is able to discuss topics beyond the superficial. 

Light and playful is great, but sounds like he wants to go a bit deeper.  He's bored, unstimulated otherwise.  At least sometimes, it's good to mix it up.

Light and playful mixed with substantive.  I am actually the same. 

I don't think him telling you to "open up more" was fair though. 

Does HE open up to you?   Does HE initiate deeper conversations with you?

Why is he putting all this on you?

What are your conversations like?  Can you give us examples?  What types of things do you talk about?

You may be a mismatch.

Edited by poppyfields
  • Like 5
26 minutes ago, poppyfields said:

To me, it means he needs someone with some depth, who is able to discuss topics beyond the superficial. 

Light and playful is great, but sounds like he wants to go a bit deeper.  He's bored, unstimulated otherwise.  At least sometimes, it's good to mix it up.