3 years LDR, no end in sight and only complications

Bernardine222

Hy! It would be nice to hear somebody more experienced to help me.. because me myself dont know what to do, i dont know where to find strength...

to cut Story short and not to write that much. I am in a Long distance relationship for like 3 years (it will be 3 years in August)..ahm i am studying in Austria and he is working in croatia.. now i am almost done with my studies and from the beginning i have told him that i want to stay here where i am, because i have opportunity to do my phd here and get a better Job. so he is looking for a Job in Austria for one year and havent find anything.. two weeks ago, his father end up in bed and they cannot find anyone to take care of him, neither can put him in old peoples home, because his crazy mom did not want to put him on the wait list two years ago..

so now everything is crap, because he told me, that he wont leave his parents...

he is 27 i am 23....

i want to have normal life, i want to have normal relationship and there is time coming to have normal Family...

and the only Problem in our relationship is only this issue - distance, the Job/parents stuff...

i feel so ****ty and hurt :(

i dont want this Kind of Feeling to anyone, not even to the worst enemy..

Sadly, sometimes love just isn't enough.

Unless you are willing to apply to a PhD program closer to him, which is more realistic then him leaving his dying father (or later his widowed mother) you two either need to accept that your LDR will continue or it's time to give up.

Bernadine,

Yes it sounds like your 3 year LDR has some complications. But that doesn't mean those complications mark the end of your relationship. When obstacles come into relationships, you can react 1 of 2 ways: you can give up completely, or you can brainstorm and compromise around the obstacles...see the opportunities that those obstacles present to you and your boyfriend.