2 years later

Hello everyone

Last time I posted here I got a bit of a rough ride (see "am I being taken for a fool") but I thought I would risk another conversation.

We are still together and have been reasonably settled these last two years. No real violence - I have lost my temper but not hit her again. She does her best to wind me up though - last time was because she commented on my driving, said she thought I was going to crash into another car. I have been driving for 30 years without an accident, and I drive better than she does - she is in no place to comment. Then she has the gall to sulk when I tell her I'm just not having it.

Anyway, that is not why I am writing. I have just found out I need to take drugs everyday for the rest of my life. No big deal, just a hassle going to collect them every 4 weeks, but it makes me feel old and I have started thinking about my life and it has depressed me.

I have wasted my life, I stuck with this woman and for what? I told her last night I was depressed - I hate my job, I hate the journey to work, I hate the things she has done to me. I am trying (successfully) to change jobs so she says "well work will be better soon, the journey will be much much shorter so things will be better". When I ask about the things she has done to me she says "I'm sorry but I can't make them go away. They happened a long time ago (1988, 1994 and 2005) why do you still keep thinking about them?"

Can you imagine she can just forget what happened - just brush things under the carpet ?

To me she has cheated on me repeatedly the whole of our relationship - if she fancies someone else, then she wants sex with them - if she wants sex with them then she wants an affair, therefore she cheated. She thinks I can just forget it all and get on with my life. She cannot see the damage she has done.

She says she will leave - great ! I do nothing wrong and end up alone !