Deal breakers

blind_otter

So I have recently started dating someone, this guy who is in the submarine service. He came up to visit me this weekend, and it was slightly weird.

See the thing is, I am pretty much a wastoid. I am intelligent, educated, I have a college degree, and I've had an on-again-off-again problem with drugs and alcohol for the last 7 years or so. I own my own house, my car is paid off, I just have a problem with drugs that teeters from recreational into abuse on a regular basis. This guy, has never gotten high in his life, on anything. He's had minor issues with alcohol - but honestly this is a common thing among servicemen, especially men who go out to sea for months at a time, stuck in a tube full of other men, able to communicate with others only through email.

I have this thing, number one, about getting involved with men who aren't as educated as I am. Insecurity, maybe, but all except my exhusband (who had a BS in business administration and two minors in finance and international business) had either dropped out of high school or stopped their schooling after high school. So usually I have little in common with these men.

This guy is no different. I have no idea, beyond my body and face, why he is attracted to me (and honestly, I think that's really the issue. It always is. Men are attracted to me because I'm attractive, but I have an odd and kooky personality that doesn't really match with my looks....besides my strange wardrobe chioces, and the tattoos that cover my back, which are only visible when I have no shirt on).