Online Dating - Did/Does it work for you????

SadNLonley

Has Online Dating worked for you?  

148 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

How has online dating gone for you? Here's a poll.

Edited by a LoveShack.org Moderator
Create poll and edit title for clarity
scooby-philly

Short answer:

Somewhere between It was ok and I did well.

Long Answer:

(I'm a guy). I've been using OLD sites for about 8 months now. I've hit it off with 3 women well enough to get to 2 or 3 dates - one got to 12. But, as you can tell from my answer, none of them have turned into anything long term.

I didn't date a lot as a teen/young adult. I was in a relationship and we were engaged, but called it off last year. Since then, I've found the dating process a bit wearisome. I don't mind doing the dance per se. It's just tough because 1. It's hard to judge personality and chemistry over the phone and through email/text. 2. I sometimes find myself attracted to people who really aren't my type personality wise, but that's ok - it's all part of the learning process. 3. Lots of people are on the sites, even the paid ones, for the wrong reasons - i.e. they're just out of a relationship and think they're ready for one but they're not, or they really just want something casual and the other person doesn't respect that or doesn't "get it" in the sense that they may say they understand, but they're not really comfortable with their feelings.

I know that to be true in my case. The woman I went out with for over a dozen dates - I was looking/am looking for something serious - and while I'm not looking to settle or to rush into things, I do want that for myself and she didn't want that right now but I couldn't bring myself at first to accept it.

But, to make a long story short - OLD is a tool. No different than a bar, friends, a meetup group, etc. It's another weapon in the arsenal.

• Like 1