Argued with my girlfriend about splitting rent

Hi ladies and gents. This is my first time posting a thread on this website, so bear with me if I'm not following any protocols. My girlfriend of 3 months and I got into an argument after we discussed how we would split the rent if we moved in together.

On the phone, she was the first to propose that she pay just 1/3 of the total rent, while I, the guy, pay 2/3 of the total rent. Considering that we both earn the same income, I was just taken by surprise that she didn't propose a 50-50 split. But after she said she would pay just 1/3 of the rent, I told her I was worried that she might be taking advantage of me. I didn't care about the money. After I said that, she told me she was upset and hurt that I wasn't invested enough in the relationship to overlook that difference. Then, I apologized to her and told her I'd pay whatever amount she proposed. But now, she is still struggling to get over the fact that I would even argue with her about paying more rent, since I am the man and she is the lady.

Can you guys please give me your honest unbiased opinion? Am I wrong for questioning why she should pay just 1/3 of the rent even though we earn the same income? Or is she being a little unreasonable, especially since I was willing to apologize and give in to what she proposed?

:/

You want my honest opinion? She is emotionally manipulating you, and doing a really damn good job of it. Like a pro.

She is making you feel like its YOUR fault that she is acting irrationally.

Do not move in with this woman. DO NOT LET HER CONVINCE YOU TO. Seriously, if you listen to one piece of advice in your entire life, listen to what I am telling you now. I was you 2 years ago.

• Like 32

Does she have more expenses than you at the moment? Ie: is she paying back student loans or something that prevent her from being able to afford to contribute more?

I couldn't imagine not splitting things 50/50.

• Like 8
Poppyolive