Sorry if this topic isn't directly self improvement but I need help on a situation that is ultimately going to give me self improvement.

I'm a singer/songwriter. Actually no scrap that, I'm a sales assistant that wants to be a singer/songwriter haha, let's stay real here.

I have two jobs that I work and I've been saving money for the past 4/5 months. Now I nearly have about a grand saved but now I'm stuck with a dilemma.

I'm 19 and I can't drive but I also don't have a computer/camera/general recording equipment I feel I need to make good videos for say YouTube and Facebook. Social media is probably my main focus as I live in a small town that with any amount of gigs, wouldn't really progress anything.

I don't know whether to spend this money on learning to drive or getting new equipment? I get buses to work every day and that costs me about £50 a month and they're, for the most part, reliable.

I asked a friend not so long ago about this and he said that he wants me to think of driving as a reward almost after I put all my effort into music it should give me something in return and he's thinking I'd make the money back and get the reward/luxury of being able to drive and afford a car etc. Is this wise?

It's just a big risk I mean if I learnt to drive it's something to offer for new jobs and I'd have so much more freedom etc. I just don't know

Could you spend the money on equipment for live gigs?

What instrument do you play?

Gigs = experience + money

use some of your savings to pay your friend back for all the drinks he bought you.

Edited by Nowty V
  • Author