Love and Money

Hi everyone

I'm new here and have posted on another board, but I'm in need a fresh perspective, although I probably already know in my head what I should do. I'll try to be brief:

My boyfriend and I (we are both 30) have been together for exactly a year, and have been inseparable best friends for a year and a half. I feel very lucky... how often do people fall in love with their best friend, right?

Well, needless to say, a few months ago we began talking about engagement, moving in together (which he knows I wouldn't do before engagement), names for the kids we'll have together, all that good stuff. Well, one day a little over a month ago, I knew I should probably tell him about my student loan debt (it is extremely high, but I have a Master's degree and one year at the doctoral level). He is from another country, though, and this type of debt (actually any type of debt) is foreign to him. Needless to say, and for lack of a better word, he freaked out. Completely panicked. Wanted two weeks to absorb and so on. That was a few weeks ago and we see each other again, but there is strain because he feels that I should ask every single one of my relatives for money to pay off my debt.

Some of you may have school debt and probably understand that this is just a fact of life here and understand the responsibility to pay it off over 15 20 25 years. We borrowed it for education, and promised to repay it.

However, he has not been understanding at all. He seems to think there is something I can do (Me, MYSELF) to make my debt magically disappear. I have been beating around the bush saying things like "Well, maybe this, maybe that" but I know that it is just to buy time and hope he'll come around.