I fell for a friend and colleague, but her behavior confuses and hurts me so much

Well, this is a long story, but i'd appreciate it if anyone can offer some advice.

So i first met this girl at work about a year ago, she just joined the company i have been working for (I have been there for about 6 months when she joined).

For basically 8 months we didn't really pay attention to each with only a few words here and there. Then around four months ago, we started seeing each other more during work and naturally started talking more and more as well. We also soon realized we actually stayed in basically the same area, so we saw each other and chatted pretty often on the way to work and when going back home. We started to form a friendship.

Around 3 months ago, she started opening up to me more, about her personal life, her interests and her struggles in her earlier life. We also started touching each other more and more (All platonic, on the shoulder, arms, asking to feel her hands if they are cold). Around this time, i made my first mistake, i took these things as a sign that she was interested in/attracted to me. Totally ignoring other contrary signs, such as body language and her general behavior.

The mistakes just get worse from here, I soon told her through text, that i see her as more than a friend. Didn't end well (Obviously), she called me back saying that she sees me as a good friend, but nothing more. I met her again a few days later and talked about what happened. I told her i still want to remain friends and that i will move on.

I really tried to move on, but i couldn't. Over the next month or so, she got closer to me as a friend and i felt so caught in the middle. It was so painful, I couldn't have the emotional connection i wanted and this abnormal relationship was really hurting me a lot, but at the same time, i couldn't bear to suddenly hurt her and tell her that i can't be friends anymore.