Im having a LDR with a MM- am I totally mad?!

Hey everyone :) Ive been lurking on here for a while & finally decided to post. None of my friends/family know my full situation & sometimes its hard not getting a 2nd opinion so thats why Im here.

Ok basically Ive been involved with a MM for just over 5 years. His wife found out about us very early on & was angry but not distraught, she said she just wanted him as he was a great father to their 2 kids. He has had affairs before & she didnt seem shocked to find out about me. Since then she has found out stuff every so often- checked his phone or emails etc & sent me messages saying she knows its still going on.

Anyway, for the last 3 years he has been saying he wants to be with me, live with me, get married to me etc. It has been finances getting in the way- he nearly went bankrupt & Im a student so neither if us had the money to put a deposit down for a house. I still live at home with my parents & I dont have the money to move out as Im in my last year of studying. His house is mainly owned by his wife as she inherited it. We have always said we will move out as soon as things improve with his work & I finish studying as then I can start my career.

This year he's got back on his feet financially & has bought a business abroad (his wife remortgaged the house in order to lend him the money) and things seemed to be looking up. I have accompanied him every month this year when he's been working abroad & we have spent a lot of time together.