doubts and questions

This is my first time posting to any kind of mesage board like this so bear with me!

I am a 44 year old man, currently happily married with two teenage boys. We are not well off by any stretch of the imagination but we make do and are generally happy.

My relationship with my wife spans 20 years and we have had our ups and downs.

About ten years ago, she had an affair for about 6 months.

It started in the summer, and I found out about it in the late fall. I have been able to put that behind me and the relationship I have with her.

More recently, about three years ago she went on some weekend trips with "friends". There were three trips in all, and by chance on the last one I found out that she was not where she said she was going and who she said sshe would be with. I naturally concluded that the other trips were similar. At the time she had been active in AA, and when I confronted her with my discovery, she told me that she could not continue in AA and took those weekends to go off on a binder away from the family.

Now, I understood her reasons about keeping the drinking away from the family, but, the deception brought back old feelings and worries from the affair. I have never been able to get out of her the truth as to her whereabouts or who she was with. She has always been vague about it. Anyways, I forgave and put that behind us once again.

Recently she aquired a cell phone. All well and good.

However, the consequent bills were quite expensive and detailed phone calls in particular to one number. I asked her about it and she told me it was a friend from work, a male friend, who she says is becoming a good friend. Now I would normally have no problem with this, but the phone bills show the calls to this friend to be in the hundreds. Most are very short, but some are quite long.

I trust my wife completely, but the seed of doubt has cropped up and has me questioning if this relationship with her friend will turn into something more.