I travelled around the world to meet a guy and got friend zoned

I've been talking to a guy I met on Tinder for several years now. We're from the same city but nothing eventuated and we kept an online relationship that lasted a number of years that got deeper (as much as an online relationship can) that included a lot of flirting and conversations about how much we wanted to be together and how we could talk about anything and everything together.

He (32M) moved overseas just over a year ago on a 2 year visa without us meeting but we kept in touch and chatted constantly. Over Christmas, he asked me to come and visit him so that we could spend some time together and go sightseeing - this would be the first time we'd meet face to face. I knew this was a risk given we were in different places and he is away for another year and travelling and having a good time meeting new people but I thought it could be fun to spend some time together for a week or so so booked the trip and that we could reevaluate once his 2 year visa was up. We talked about dates together to make sure he'd be free when I was there.