Long Distance and she wants a break

Hi,

I've been dating my most recent girlfriend for over a year. We hit it off so well to start but I had just gotten out of a serious relationship so I wanted to make sure that we knew we were right for each other so we developed first as friends for a couple months and then for the last year and couple months we became intimate. I work as a doctor in a hospital and she was a nurse. She subsequently got into a nursing anesthesia program that was on the other coast and she was really scared to tell me because she didn't want it to affect our relationship. We decided that we love each other so much and that we would make it work regardless of the distance. Her school would be for a little over 2 years but we would make every effort to see each other when we could.

When we started the long distance about 5-6 months ago, it was a rough transition because of the 3 hour time difference but we made sure to email each other when we couldn't text and I would make sure that we face time as much as possible. Things were going really well given the circumstances of distance. I was even able to go out and see her a couple months after she left but she was knee deep in studying. I did everything I could to help her study including spending 9 out of the 10 days I was there in the library with her, quizzing her, teaching her things I had learned in medical school. She was very stressed but very appreciative. It was also her birthday during that time so I did a lot of random things for her including making her a "101 reasons why I love you" jar and a hand made picture frame to put pictures of us.