Should I move to Paris or Toronto?

senoritabonita

My bf and I have been together for just over a year. Our situation is very complicated but here goes...He is Italian, I am Italian-Canadian. We are both in our late 20s. I live in Madrid, he lives in Paris. We met over a year ago in Paris while I was visiting a friend, and from there we´ve been going back and forth to see each other every other weekend (not so expensive but expensive enough). He is an engineer, I am a teacher. I enjoy teaching primary at an International school, but I´m kind of over it. I´ve been teaching abroad for over two years and it´s just such arduous work. Especially in Spain where the kids are so loud!

My bf has a good job in Paris, although he is not quite satisfied and wants a change.

The thing is, I worked as a court reporter 2 years ago in Toronto for a year and it was a great experience. I really want to go back and get back into the legal field and recently I´ve applied for a one year course in Paralegal Studies in Toronto and I´m really excited for the opportunity.

My bf does not want to go to Toronto, he would not really fit in either as he´s really macho Italian, very stuck in his ways and told me he could not see himself in Canada for the rest of his life. His idea of living is to travel every so often. He wants me to move to Paris for the time being, so we could give our love a chance. I´ve had a few interviews there but it seems like I´ll be freelancing teaching English there if I do move in with him.