Is This Considered Cheating?

Okay, I'm a recent high school graduate who's going to college in the fall. I'm young, I know that. But I've been in this relationship for over a year and a half, and while things have been really rocky at times, I still love him.

The problem is that, almost right after graduation, my boyfriend went back to Europe to visit his family for the summer. It's hard to talk to him on the phone because it's so expensive, and even though we send each other messages fairly often, it doesn't feel the same. Also, we're going to different colleges in the fall. His is only about an hour away from mine, but he won't have a vehicle, and it'll be completely up to me to make visits. Also, I know that I'll be too busy to visit him every weekend.

And, I feel guilty about this, but I started talking to another guy. It's totally innocent right now, except for the way I feel. He's really smart and attractive, like my boyfriend, but he's incredibly charming and polite, and has a strong set of morals (unlike my boyfriend). He knows about my relationship, and appears to respect it. But, we've started talking a lot, especially late at night. We had lunch and saw a movie, and recently, he was in town so he came to my house to help me with an article I was writing (and he stayed for four hours - we talked and watched the USA/Brazil soccer game). I feel really comfortable around him, and we always have a lot of fun.

I would never cheat on my boyfriend, but how bad is it that I'm having this crush? Is it only because my boyfriend isn't around, or does this mean that I should reevaluate my relationship? I mean, we fight a lot, and recently my boyfriend has started to be really controlling (telling me I can't hang out with my friends, criticizing me, etc.). I'm thinking maybe I'm intrigued with this guy because I've been dating a "bad boy" and I want a good one. But at the same time, I care about my boyfriend, and would probably regret it if we broke up. HELP!