Trusting a writer

I have been living with my boyfriend for a little over a year and recently a strange misunderstanding has caused some trust issues.

I am an aspiring writer and so I have inordinate amounts of papers and notebooks laying around the apartment containing stories, poetry, fragments, ideas etc. My writing is not private and my boyfriend is welcome to read any of it if he wishes. I value his input and enjoy sharing what I'm working on with him.

Recently, my boyfriend came across a story written by me in the first person about a young woman who has sex with her bisexual male friend after a night out together at a gay club. He was very upset upon reading it as he believed it to be a sort of journal entry.

As many writers do, I include "elements of the real" in my fictional stories (the old "write what you know" adage.) I do have a close bisexual friend who I often accompany to gay clubs. The story is based on an encounter my friend had with another woman (he gave me permission to build a story around his personal experience.)

My boyfriend knows this friend of mine and the three of us often hang out together, so there is nothing secretive about the friendship. Also, the story was in a pile with some of my other writing - it's not as if it were hidden away in my underwear drawer.

I have never cheated on my boyfriend, nor do I have sexual fantasies about my friend. I often write in the first person because of my preference for that point of view. Theoretically, there are several stories I have written that could be misconstrued as personal accounts because of that perspective, and also because I use real events and people I know to develop stories and characters around.