parents disapprove of relationship...

ggirl1553

This is my first time using this site, and I was hoping to get some advice. I have been with my boyfriend for almost 2 years now. He has always treated me with respect and we love each other. He is the only serious boyfriend I have ever had. The problem is that my parents have always discouraged me from dating him for the simple fact that I am a Christian and he is agnostic. He's 23 and graduated from college over a year ago, and I'm 21 and will graduate in May, so if things are going well for us I could see this ending up in marriage at some point.

I would like advice from anyone who has parents who do not approve of their boyfriend or girlfriend, and from other Christians on their view of dating non-Christians. Do you feel that similar religious beliefs are vital to your relationship? That it is ALWAYS a bad idea to date/marry a non-Christian (for reasons like what your children will believe)? I can't help but hope that one day he could become a Christian too. Any advice will help..

I can't help but hope that one day he could become a Christian too.

This is a huge red flag. If you are hoping he'll change his beliefs in the future then you're not a good match. You have to accept him for who he is now. And you should be with him because of who he is, not who you want him to be.

How would you feel if he was hoping that you'd give up your Christian faith and become agnostic?

On the subject of your parents: The relationship is between you and your b/f. Your parents may disapprove, but ultimately you have to do what's best for yourself and your relationship. Do what makes you happy, not what makes them happy.

• Author