She talks too much!

933KJL

OK, so there is this girl I am just beginning to date. She is really nice, we seem like a good match. BUT (and there always seems to be a "but") she just talks too much.

I mean A LOT! She repeats the same stories over and over. She will interrupt people to interject her opinion --which usually turns in to one of the repeated stories. She even talks during movies and a comedy club--interjecting opinion and so forth. Example: comedy club, comediam is doing a routine on stalkers, and she is like "is he really making fun of stalkers? I can't believe he would make fun like that. It is a serious problem. Oh, I am not sure everyone will think this is funny." Then the comedian says "Hey lady, shut up, I am the one doing the show here"

OK he can get away with that, but I cannot. This is probably the only thing that is keeping me from advancing the relationship.

How do you politely tell someone they talk too much? I would not be surprised if it was the deal killer on her past relationships.

slubberdegullion

It's long since been established that, generally, women talk more than men, because women communicate to build and solidify relationships, whereas men talk to exchange information.

That being said, if she's a yabbermouth, just tell her to shuddup. It won't work, of course, and she'll be sullen for a while, but at least you'll have some short-term peace.

I rather doubt this is a characteristic that will change just because you mention it. I think the inclination to be chatty is an inborn quality and not subject to much alteration.

bluechocolate
I rather doubt this is a characteristic that will change just because you mention it. I think the inclination to be chatty is an inborn quality and not subject to much alteration.

I'd have to agree with that. I can deal with friends who talk too much, but a partner, never!