How do I express interest in anyone because apparently I’m not good at it?

hannahl9811

hannahl9811

Within my last few weeks of this semester of college, I got to know a guy I have a crush on a little better. We’ve found that we’re very similar, and he definitely likes me, because mutual friends have told me so. However, he did mention that he struggles to believe I have feelings because I “act distant.” This isn’t the first time I’ve heard this from a guy I’ve truly had feelings for and I think it’s cost me time with guys I want to get to know.

My question is: how do I even show that I’m interested without coming across as desperate?

I want this guy to know that I really like him. But I’m very guarded because I don’t want to get hurt, honestly, and I also definitely don’t want to get rejected. I know this guy is genuinely nice and we’ve had a discussion about what he wants out of dating, and I don’t see him having bad intentions. But I am just so afraid that it’s costing me! Any advice would be appreciated :)

PegNosePete

Is your fear of rejection greater than your fear of missing out?

If not, ask him out.

If it is, ask your mutual friends to tell him that if he were to ask you out, you'd definitely say yes!

Has anyone told you what you are doing that appears distant? If you know specifics, you can work on changing those things, and they don't have to be drastic, but enough that you don't come off as cold.