Only 5 months in, is it worth is?

smeckers

Hi all, this is my first time ever posting on a forum so I’m a little bit nervous, but I hope it will help my situation.

I am Irish and I have been dating an American guy who moved to Ireland for about 5 months now. At the start it was simply amazing. He was messaging me and calling me all the time, we went on so many dates, he just seemed perfect to me and I was honestly so happy. Then, because of his job, he had a period of 6 weeks when he was travelling non-stop, with 3 of those weeks in the States so there was the time-difference issue. He managed to fly back for one evening during the 6 weeks to Ireland so I got to see him then and it was lovely and everything was normal. We messaged and called a lot while he was away. And exchanged "miss yous" and the normal coupley things.

Last Saturday was the day he was finally coming back and we had arranged to go out for dinner that evening after he had a chance to sleep a bit during the day. However, evening time came around and he rang and said that he was still really tired and asked if we could postpone. If I’m being honest, my feelings were kind of hurt. I was so excited to see him and I naively thought he would be excited to. So when he kind of blew me off I got upset and hung up the phone.

He didn’t try and contact me again that evening, or the next morning. So I sent him a message explaining why my feelings had been hurt and that it seemed maybe he wasn’t interested in me anymore. He did not respond until the evening (which was very unlike him if previous behaviour was anything to go on) and said that he was homesick and didn’t feel up to doing anything over the weekend but he was sorry he hurt my feelings as it was not his intention. He said he was interested in me because he thought I was cute, sexy and super smart and he still wanted to see me.