Should I let go? Or should continue

premedlife

There is this really wonderful guy that i have known for about 2 years and been talking to since April. He was there throughout the course of me and my ex relationship. He is a wonderful guy and treats me with so much love and respect. He gets me things i need and has always wanted a chance with me. However im not sure if i should end things now for no reason. He is 31 years old. He had an ex fiancee and has 2 kids with her. They separated 3 years ago and he has several relationship before me. he has his own apartment and work. He did not finish high school. I on the other hand, i am 20 years old, no children, i am a pre med student that will be applying to medical school next May. I am a junior in undergrad. I feel like he does not fit the picture of an ideal husband because of his education level. The fact that he has two children bothers me a lot because im not sure if i want to be a step mom. And i fear him leaving me to try and make things work with his babymomma. He is really an amazing man and im so confused whether to stay or let go. He says that he will go back to school to get some kind of degree to please my family. I don't know if my family will ever approve of me wanting to be with me. The age difference is not much of an issue for me. We have a lot of things in common and im afraid feelings have already started to grow.

For what that's worth, dating/committing to men with kids and ex-spouses when you have none of that is an enormous undertaking. You are right to question the difficulty of being involved in someone's life with children in the background, the relationship with ex - all of it. The hesitation and questioning is likely to continue for a very long time if this relationship continues. It's really hard to stay in the honeymoon phase when (the remnants of someone else's) real life hits you hard so soon in the romance.