Should I take friendship to the next level? Does she like me?

User12345

I am a 22 year-old student. In the past several months I have become close friends with a girl at school, Jane. At first, Jane and I only spent time together with a group of other people. However, as I got to know Jane better I finally got the courage to ask her to spend time alone with me (like coming over to my place to watch a movie, going to church, studying at my place, getting ice cream, etc...)

Recently, Jane and I went to a park one afternoon and we also went out to dinner and had a great time. We also wanted to see a movie but nothing good was playing. Jane even insisted on paying for dinner because I did nice things for her the week beforehand (Jane was sick recently and I did some favors for her at school like getting her assignments and also making her a CD to listen to if she was in bed bored). Anyway, I'm not sure if Jane hangs out with me as a friend or if she actually likes me. She is a very friendly, innocent, cute, and outgoing girl so sometimes her behavior is hard to interpret. I also don't know if our trip to the park and dinner was a date or not.

Another problem in this situation is that Jane is very close friends with another guy, John. I am friends with John, but not close friends. John and Jane have been friends for a few months more than I have known Jane. John and Jane flirt a lot...they also kissed on an occasion. I'm not sure if they are dating or if what they experienced was just a "fling." Several times Jane has been depressed because of her situation with John, saying things like "I should just forget it," or "It's hopeless." Although she would not specifically mention that comment was about a guy, I am very confident it is about John.