Am I Being Played?

DollWelch

Hello all.

I have been conversing and getting to know a man on and off, for the last 4 or 5 months. I'll start off by saying, he and I share good chemistry, humour and attractiveness to each other. I could go on and on about the finer details in this courting process -but I'll cut to the chase.

He lives about 5 hours away from me (I do understand this is long distance), so I have -and apparently more-so he, has taken the time to learn more about each other. However, it's been at a snail's pace.

I have been quite busy for the last few months, and he has attested to being busy as well, but he doesn't make much contact. Few and far in-between.

I had a conversation with him, basically asking him why he even bothers sticking around if it's obvious he has no intention of pursuing a date with me. He went on to say that he does indeed take this seriously, that I'm very special to him, he doesn't want to lose me (his words) and that he wants to surprise me by coming into my city and taking me out on a date in about 2 months time from now (May). Apparently, he'll be in my city to pick something up -and that's when he'll be free from his obligations (work and school).

At first, I assumed that he'd just saying that, simply because he'll be in my city so he probably thinks he can take advantage of the opportunity and promise to take me out. Yet, on the other hand, he's convincing in that he seems really genuinely into me.

I'm confused. For some odd reason, I'm having a hard time letting go of this. Sigh.I know better than to fall for something like this. I am usually a good judge of character, especially with men.

Should I move on? Is it pointless to stick around?

My take. Though I'd be interested in other's opinions.

This for me is the danger of long-term online relationships where you don't meet for months. So much gets invested.