Gold-digging Men?

Gypsy_Soul

I've heard men mention that when women ask them what they do for a living as one of the very first questions that they give the impression of being a gold- digger.

Well lately, one of the very first questions that men have been asking me within the first minute of talking or first message online, is what do I do for a living. Could these men be gold-diggers?

Possible. Or it may be they are trying to weed out gold diggers themselves. They figure if you are financially secure, you are less likely to be one.

Or more simply, it could just be they are interested in you. People spent most of their lives at work and your job tells alot about you.

Feelin Frisky

I should think that such a question is normal fare in any getting-to-know-you conversation. It takes mor than that to start thinking "gold-digger"--unless of course one has a paranoid world view.

Duckduckgoose

Perhaps, but it could also be to make sure YOU are not a gold digger.

Maybe they like a strong independent woman. If you are stable and excited about your career it might be a turn on?

If there was a person I was trying to get to know I would ask what they do for a living, as it helps me gauge things about their personality.

A real gold digger would ask you how much money you make :p

It seems like a common question. Doesn't what someone do say a lot about them?

However, if they're asking how much money you make, or more questions about finances, I'd find that crass so early on.

It's often an early question I'm asked. I'm paid a teacher's salary (I'm not exactly a teacher; I'm a reading coach in a charter program, but I'm paid like a public school teacher), so I'm not rich. Nobody'd be gold-digging. And I've never noticed major drop-off after the answer.