Materialistic Man

I have been with the same man for the past four years and our relationship has been all about him for just as long. The problem I have is that I feel I can't do anything right in his eyes. He tells me that I need to help him with his chores (laundry, cooking, cleaning, etc. and we do not live together), and also help him outside (he has 5 acres to tend to), otherwise I am useless. He has an eight-year-old daugter whom he loves more than life itself and he expects me to love her as much as he does and babysit her when he wants to work overtime.

I am presently attending graduate school, and have raised my three children ... they are intelligent, loving , successful, and caring human beings. I work, go to university, and try very hard to keep this four-year relationship alive. But I am at my wits end. It all started the day after Christmas.

I don't have much money, because I am a student and single mom, but I bought a mini-vacation for my BF and me ... it was a weekend getaway, and I was really excited to give it to him for Christmas. Long story short, it interferes with football playoffs, and my BF basically told me it was the worst gift he's ever received for Christmas. I am now beginning to believe he is very materialistic, as he stated that he didn't get what he wanted for Christmas ... my gift was not good enough for him. My feelings are terribly hurt and I am thinking about ending the relationship because of his reaction.

PLEASE!!! I need advise from anyone who feels let down by their gifts or has had a similar reaction from their significant other.