Friend acting like she’s better than me

sapphirerose

I have a good friend I’ve been close to for 11 years now (we’re both female and in our early twenties). We went to secondary school together. She has now finished university and currently works full-time as a teacher. I’m actually still in university, because I started it later after taking two gap years to work out what I wanted to do. I’ve now found my passion and love what I study, and will be finished next year.

Anyway, when my friend and I catch up these days (especially in a group), she kind of tries to act like she’s better or smarter than me, just because she has a ‘real adult job’, and I’m still studying. Mind you, I do work part-time in retail right now. It’s just this vibe I get from her through the way she talks to me and how much she talks. She CONSTANTLY talks about her teaching - it’s basically the only thing she talks about - sometimes in quite an arrogant way.

Even if we discuss other topics, I’ve noticed she often tries to subtly ‘prove’ me wrong whenever I make a factual statement or something. Even if I’m talking about my area of study, she will always try to show or prove she already knows what I do about it all. She tries to make it seem like she knows more than me about everything in general, and it’s very off-putting. I don’t know why she acts like this now.

This could be unrelated, but the only reason I can come up with as to why she’s feeling competitive is perhaps because she’s unhappy in some way about the fact that I’ve had several relationships and she’s never been on a single date with anyone. What are your thoughts? I believe nobody is better than anyone else - we’re all on different journeys. While we still have laughs and good chats, her behaviour has begun to annoy me. I don’t know how to approach this, as she has always been a loyal friend to me and we’ve been through a lot together. Any advice?