Lost my best friend because of his religion :(

Sweeetie

I'm a 23-yr old female. I did my Masters degree at University with a Muslim guy who I grew very close to: just as friends. He is from Afghanistan and has been living here in London since he was 13, he is 23 now. He's always been very religious. There was nothing romantic between us; just a very strong friendship (I got a boyfriend during that time anyway). We were like brother and sister. He was always there for me when I needed help and we understood each other very well; we had a connection that was very deep. He also did things for me that most other people don't do (including my ex!), and he always brightened up my day. He is the most amazing guy I have ever met and he means a great deal to me.

Our Masters course finished in September, it lasted one year, but this friend and I stayed in touch. I invited him to my birthday dinner in October and that was the last time I saw him. About two months ago, in mid-December, I noticed that he stopped replying to my texts and Facebook messages. This carried on for weeks and I tried calling him several times and sending him emails via his Outlook account (I knew only that email address of his). He hadn't even been on Facebook since mid-December, I saw last week when I checked. I also checked his Youtube account and saw that he had been inactive on that for 2 months too.