Asking definitions during job interviews

I have over 20 years experience in my field and can do the job using many different methodogies however; since there are so many different terms and methodogies, I do not know them all but can definitely do the work no matter what that person or company is calling it. I also update my training every few years to stay on top of quite a bit of it. However; in the past couple of years, I’ve went to 4 job interviews where I was describing what I did and the interviewer just blantely asks or interrupts me to ask me a definition? What the heck is that? If I get it wrong then I’m completely discredited regardless if I’ve successfully completed that task under a different name.

Today I was in an interview with a rude old man. I said that I had experience with a skill and he seriously interrupted me and asked me to give him a definition. Apparently he didn’t like my answer as he frowned, gave another panelist a look and crossed his arms. He was finished with the interview after that. The funny thing is, his company has never used the methodology he was asking about and never has plans too. In all honesty, I was quite disgusted and angry at him for sabatoging my interview that way especially since he is quitting anyway. I would like to avoid that happening to me in the future. How can I avoid being asked to answer definitions and have these jerks focus on what I’ve done to bring value to the organizations I work for and the value I can add to their company? Knowing definitions does not really show what kind of work someone can accomplish. It’s not like they can learn them on the job anyway.

Happy Lemming

I don't know if this applies, but I always tried to have "canned" answers to questions, when interviewed. Already rehearsed answers to some of those "describe your weaknesses" type questions.