I just need to vent. I'm a federal contractor and am currently assigned to an agency where no one knows what's going on and my immediate supervisor is the world's biggest dick.

He's a good 30 years older than me (I'm 22) and makes comments about how I'm too skinny and he doesn't know how models and actresses with my body type are considered attractive. He thinks he's being funny, but it pisses me off.

He gossips about other employees behind their backs and insults them personally in areas of their lives that have nothing to do with work. One of the women is Indian and he goes around telling people that she's not in control at work or at home and can't speak English, when her English is perfectly fine, just accented, and she does way more work than he does.

He just sits in his office all day and yacks away about how good he is at his job and how other people don't know what they're doing and how he's so smart and knows how to deal with people, while in reality he has no idea what's going on with anything.

Because I'm a contractor, my main job is just to do my job well, be pleasant and charismatic and make my company look good with this agency so they can potentially get more contracts. It's not my place to say anything so I just have to bite my tongue.

Fortunately I may have another job opportunity coming up, but it's not definite yet and just...ughhh :p. Losing my mind here.

Any comments about your appearance could be considered gender discrimination. I'd firmly telling him to stop making such comments. Then I'd do everything to accelerate when you can get out of there.

• Like 3

I am very sorry. It's shocking that in this day and age people still considering it to be appropriate to comment on someone's appearance at work in a negative way. I went through the 'too skinny' comment when I was really young so I know how that feels.

I think he thinks you are that body shape on purpose

• Author