Want old job back but previous manager blocks it

Hi,

Hope this is ok to post here.

Hi,

Would appreciate your advice. Sorry it's long.

Over 2 years ago I worked as a temp for 6 months at this bank as a programmer. I loved that place. Loved the people, loved the atmosphere, loved the managers, the work everything. Loved waking up and going to work.

Unfortunately, the 6 months ended. Ever since I have worked at 2 different places and have always dreamed about going back there.

I admit when I was there i was sooo excited to have gotten in and i was an idiot. Didn't invest too much effort and was more interested in finally having a social life at work (previous work places were tiny and not much people maybe 3) and being there. I was more interested in hanging out with this guy from my team and we always felt that our boss didn't like that we were good friends.

In all other jobs I work hard and take it seriously and invest all that I can...in this job i was stupid!!

I did leave on good terms and i remained friends with my previous team members. Speak to them often.

A few opportunities have opened up in the bank but when the managers wanted me and spoke to my previous manager about me she told them not to take me. She said that my quality of work isn't good - my friends say she has no idea as she isn't a programmer and now when a new opportunity opened with some of my previous team members and their manager wanted me she told her the same and also that i don't suit the team!! How can she say that when the manager now saw my interaction with the team and that is one of the reasons she asked for me and I am very good friends with most of them! I know all of that coz my friend is trying to get me in.