Help buying thank you gift for boss?!

Hey everyone,

I work in a large law firm. I have been working in one section for the past 2 years and as a junior lawyer, have had quite a tough time, adjusting to the hours and everything. One of the more senior lawyers in this section, who is about 5 years older than me, has been an absolute godsend, helping me whenever I need it and drying my tears whenever I've become overwhelmed. She has basically gone above and beyond her duty to help me settle in and develop professionally.

Well I am moving to another section in about a week and really wanted to thank her, although have no idea what a good thank you gift would be. I was going to get her flowers but that seems so boring. I wanted to get something thoughtful but am stuck for ideas. For background, she is 28 and lives with her bf.

Any suggestions out there?

Originally posted by Sycharine

I wanted to get something thoughtful but am stuck for ideas. For background, she is 28 and lives with her bf.

Any suggestions out there?

For a business situation I think the flowers (nice ones, not less than $150) and a heartfelt card stating how much you appreciate her help is all that is warranted. Anything more would be seen as major ass kissing even tho she is your mentor.

curiousnycgirl

It sounds like this is more of a mentoring relationship so a more personal gift is okay. Does she have any outside interests? How about a purse pen from tiffany's - very nice and business appropriate. Depending on what you want to spend, the sky is the limit with pens and you can choose a more feminine one vs. the standard masculine ones. Another idea would be a very nice pin or scarf - one that could be worn to accessorize a suit.

I am sitting here wracking my brains trying to think what my mentees have given me over the years, other than fabulous pens, I am at a loss.