What's her deal?

So I know this is not a "work" issue per se but I figured this section would be the most appropriate one for such issue.

I am a college student who recently was required to complete a homework assignment together with another student. We were assigned this presentation to complete by next Monday. The person I am supposed to work with is a girl in my class but we do not know each other at all.

At the end of the first class, she told me she didn't have time to exchange her details (i.e. phone/email) but she'll be able to the following week. The following Monday she gave me her email address and left. I sent her an email asking her if we could meet up to work on this assignment. She never responded to my email.

Today, we saw each other in class and she blatantly ignored me. She was the first one out the door when the class was over.

It's like I am trying to communicate with a wall. The presentation is due next week, we have a case to choose and comment on, and this girl can't be bothered to have a 1 minute conversation with me. I don't understand what's her deal. We don't even know each other.

[A bit of background info: I am in this "elite" college where 85% of the students come from upper middle class/rich background. All of the students in my class are white except me. I'm not sure if this is the reason, but something sounds fishy. I have a feeling it's linked to one of these two things. I've never had someone acting like this towards me before.]

How am I supposed to deal with the situation? I can't afford to fail this class.

Edited by ShiningMoon

I've had this issue many times and I've honestly never cared for group projects, because I either got someone who didn't do any work or someone who didn't let me do anything. Just go to your professor or whoever is handling the class and explain the situation. You will likely be assigned a new partner or an alternative individual assignment. ;)

• Like 2