Need Advancement, But Have Concerns....

Hi everyone,

I just got my current job in February of this year. It's admin support, just like my last job and the job before that. Altogether I've got about 7 years of administrative experience.

When I took this job, I was unemployed and so happy to be offered work where the wage would cover my living expenses that I didn't think about professional growth at all really. My boss said that there would be lots of opportunity for growth....

I assist in the sales department but have no interest in being in sales or managing sales. I want to get into general office management or HR. All the admin/office staff at the branch where I work have been in their positions for many years, as well as with the company (talking 10+ average). No one's near retirement age and the company's doing well (no layoffs, workforce reduction, or restructuring on the horizon). All this means, to me, that the opportunity of me getting a manager position or even a promotion is slim to none, because we've already got an office coordinator and an office manager which either of would be the next logical step for me.

I feel scattered, I don't know how to approach my boss about this. I feel ready for a supervisor or manager position, and for my degree and work experience in this area, I should be making at least 10 -15K more than what I do now. I told her when I started that I need opportunity for advancement in order to be happy staying at a company. She said there would be opportunity, and maybe there will be, but I really don't know if I will be comfortable waiting any more for those opportunities to come around.