how does one begin a job search?

fortyninethousand322

I've decided that perhaps I need some advice. I graduated in May 2011 with a worthless degree (which I very much regret getting now) and shortly thereafter left my part time job of nine years. The last three semesters I dealt with probably depression and family issues (the depression was probably the bigger culprit of the two) and my grades sagged. Not too horribly, but I went from a 3.55 to a 3.29. This pretty much shot my chances at any of the graduate programs I think I'd like to go into.

So this leaves me with trying to find a job. I know the market is tough (especially for those who have been unemployed for over a year) but where should I begin? My only work experience is as a retail sales associate. I have no experience in management or anything other than using a register and interacting with customers and my supervisors. I have no "work skills" I suppose is what you could say. What skills I do have are the usual stuff you learn in four (in my case five) years of college: writing, critical thinking, you know the usual nonsense. I've been rejected for every bank teller position I applied for, same with a financial company that my friend gave me a reference for, and another data entry/analysis position rejected me after interviewing me twice.

At this point I'm kind of paralyzed with inaction. Do I go back to part time retail work? Do I try to get another bachelor's degree? Is there some kind of skill I can learn in some other way? Should I look for a "real job"? Any tips, advice, ideas?

And before anyone says this: I'm not interested in the military, or law enforcement. I know it sounds picky but really, no.

Your degree, is it in finance?

Mine was back in the day, and I ended up finding a job as an accounting clerk, I basically was a data entry clerk, but I did that for a year to earn some kind of experience.