A good friend as your boss???

I currently work in a pretty hi-octane environment. I bottle alot of my stuff up to make this job work. It's hell and my creativity suffers greatly when I return to it. A good friend of mine (since school) has offered me a job at his company. What are people's thoughts on friends working for a friend? I mean, I don't knw what it will be like getting a pay packet from him....he'd be cool to work with. Albeit, it's his business and so there's a lot riding on it.

how well do you know this person? I had a good friend I hired on when i was a manager. Well really my boss asked to tansfer her due to some issues (since i knew her I gave it a go) issue was, she was not what the company was going forward with. I also realize this is different from your siuation, just food for thought! So i decided she is not what the company wants but she has been employed here for three years. So i put her on a personal development plan and work with the overcoming of basically a company changing and giving her the chance to change. i got fired. Did not know why. still talked to said friend. untill the paket arrived. I recived three hours before court a packet on how I had threatened her, i had told her, in her words that i was goign to beat her up. She was so scared that she had to request police presence at ther apartment. Well being I had talked ot her the day before and people saw me at my old job and she hugged me(after I got fired) the judge threw out my dismissal and granted me unemployment compensation. Let alone I have never even been in a fight in my life. But it is still heck when interviewing with a new employer trying to explain the situation. (found out later she was bipolar and off her meds) So I reinforce how well do you know his person? Know this person VERY well go for it! maybe I did not know her well enough. Saying in my house is that I did not threaten her then but if I see her I will.