Life as an Administrative Assistant

I know i should be happy that i atleast have a decent job but at some point I just can't keep thinking like this and I think it is starting to bother me.

I have been working as an Admin Assistant since I graduated college 3 years ago. It is starting to eat at me that I spent all this money on a degree and I am doing data entry, e-mail blasts, preparing marketing materials and boxing up so many things for meetings..almost seems like labor alot of the times. Everyone else i know like my friends have much better jobs than i do; i don't get what i did wrong and now it seems this is all i am qualified for when i go to agencies.

Guys in my area were able to get an associate position out of college because they were simply men. I am sure they did not know much about what was going on with stocks etc etc..they were trained for it. But me on my review after a year was told I am not quite there to be given that type of work...ummm, why couldn't i be trained?

I know i have my flaws--i should have been more of a presence at this place, stayed late, asked for more work, i am introvert and don't seek out attention..but it just sort of ate at me that i would have to do double just to get a better job and others are just offered it on a platter.

Me and my coworker are the two assistants in this area. She has kids and shorter hours so she is just comfortable. I think right there it was sort a step back in some sense when i started working with her because I am just sort of thrown into that environment of only doing admin work and being associated with someone who talks about her kids ALOT, has no time to even do anything else etc.