Task Inquiry- How to complete

Each Year the staff is requested to complete a Job Description and Duties Required.

This year I am challenged as the duties have grown in detailed work and become a beast to perform in the required time frame allotted.

My current boss is a Readers Digest kinda of guy. Prefers simple to read.

The problem I have with that mentality is he doesnt grasp at all the amount time necessary to complete a task.

To him if you write for example: Build a rocket ship. He considers that one thing to do and doesnt measure the years of engineering and the group effort needed. He just says "Gee I see you have limited tasks being asked of you! Lets Add some more to justify your job here." Obviously we perceive things way differently in executing..He simply directs things get done without ever knowing what it takes to apply the programs and gather the materials...or troubleshooting time. (BTW I am not an engineer, just trying to give a concrete example)

Long story short- Do I simply minimize the job duties to appease him or consider this an opportunity to detail out each step necessary in the task being performed?

To preface this matter- He is having to present to the owners reasons why he needs to have the staff he does and how to downsize without injury to the business and customer expectations. My creation of this job description and task list will be reviewed by the owners.I could be setting myself up to be removed if not valuable enough....

I did read though that its the Boss or Manager that should be writing this as they are the ones who should have a grasp of what each employee duties are in accordance with the Workflow and Corp. Procedures.

Any suggestions how to compose this? Are there sites that are resourceful to aide in this? Really could use feedback on which avenue to take - Thank you!!!

Edited by Tayla
spelling
  • Author