Hey guys I'm new to this board but it seemed like the perfect place to come for help. So here is the deal:

I graduated in 2005 with a Bachelors Degree in sociology and soon realized it was impossible to find a job without at least my masters and I didn't really have the money for that or the desire to spend two more years in school. So instead I went back and got an Associates Degree in Paralegal Studies. It only took me a year, I will graduate next week, and during this time I was working 30 hours a week in a small law firm as a legal secretary. I'm only getting paid 8.50 an hour, have a 45 minute commute, and there isn't enough work for me to have a full 40 hour work week. It was obviously not the ideal job but it was the only paralegal related job I could find without any experience. Also at the time I was hired I told the lawyer i work for that i would like to stay long term because I didn't realize that it would always only be 30 hours a week and that my pay would stay so low.

Fast forward to now....I got offered a state position with the general district court right near where I live. The pay is about 12.00 an hour and there is a lot of room to move up within the system.

Here is the hard part though...how do I tell my boss,the lawyer I'm working for, that I'm leaving??? I feel so bad about it cuz everyone I work with is always saying how much they like me and how they never want me to leave. Also I feel like I am going back on what I said to my boss about staying long term. But the thing is I can't live on 8.50 an hour and since school is now over I have to move out of my parent's apartment.

Anyways I am soooo scared to tell him and feel super bad and was just wondering if anyone had any advice or tips? Oh, also my boss is a really nice guy but for some reason I always get nervous and tounge-tied around him!! Well thanks for reading this guys and sorry its long!

Can'tGiveUp