Reality/Fantasy

DrReplyInRhymes

So, I have a diatribe I'd like to go on against those who seem to want to attempt to explain to me their version of the difference of reality and fantasy.

To prelude this - I am not a credible source of authority. I have no medical background except for my experiences, I have very little experience with therapists or psychologists or psychiatrists but I have a wild imagination and like to ask questions - so yeah.

What started this line of thought was the remark someone told me once - "He has a difficult time telling the difference between reality and fantasy."

It got me pretty upset at the time. I didn't think I had a problem at all with differentiating between the two. I mean, I know what's real and what isn't! Right?! Not being able to tell the difference between the two would, for most purposes, deem me mentally ill. I hardly think my mental competence can include the word illness - but rather - failing to understand the label.

As time went on, I began to slowly question my understanding of reality and fantasy, and the difference between the two. I began to integrate my own understanding of said notions with the notions of people I have come across my in my life and, while uneducated as I may be, believed the truth to be somewhere in the middle of everyone's stories/experiences.

This is where things are going to get a bit abstract and what I need from readers, if any, is the ability to have an open mind and bring forth their understanding of reality and fantasy in a way that doesn't detract from the main idea and devolve into arguing about semantics. In other words, my train of thought is hard to understand, but if you're going to argue, don't argue about how I said it, argue about what's being said!